omg

May 20, 2008

Dan and I went to see Baby Mama on Sunday.  I have been begging to go see it for weeks and he finally relented.  Frankly, I think he just ran out of excuses.  After the Prince Caspian disappointment on Friday I guess he figured it could not be worse.  Yep. that’s right, we hated Prince Caspian!  Baby Mama was a different story.  It wasn’t perfect but there was just enough humor, charm, and honesty to make it worth the ticket.  The movie manages to both mock the absurdities of conceiving, being pregnant, dealing with professionals, and finally childbirth, while still honoring the process as a whole.  Still, there was one or two scenes that caused me to cringe and whisper to Dan, “I don’t want to do this.”  One scene has stayed with me and I think will likely stay with me up until I give birth and beyond because it was both hilarious and horrifying.   SPOILER AHEAD  After Angie’s (Amy Poehler) water breaks she is rushed to the hospital and as they are wheeling her in she is screaming, flailing about, and demanding drugs.  Among all of the chaos in the scene one line stands out In desperation she exclaims: “It feels like I am shitting a knife!” OMG!!! After listening to countless women tell me stories and watching endless  episodes of  A Baby Story, I do not doubt this statement.  And let me tell you dear readers,  I will be taking the drugs!!! 

 

One Response to “omg”

  1. cmclean Says:

    Yes you will be taking drugs , I will make sure of that . I’ll bring my own. Not for you Jaime for me and Dan .HA HA HA Love you mom .


Leave a Reply

